Burundi Cities

< View Burundi Country Information

View Burundi Cities Alphabetically

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

Burundi Cities by Population

17 cities shown of 17 total Burundi cities that are over 1,000 in population...

1. Bujumbura 331,700
2. Muyinga 71,076
3. Ruyigi 38,458
4. Gitega 23,167
5. Ngozi 21,506
6. Rutana 20,893
7. Bururi 19,740
8. Makamba 19,642
9. Kayanza 19,443
10. Muramvya 18,041
11. Cibitoke 14,220
12. Bubanza 12,728
13. Karuzi 10,705
14. Cankuzo 6,585
15. Kirundo 6,083
16. Rumonge 6,074
17. Mwaro 4,924

Burundi History

Archaeological evidence shows that a pygmoid hunter gathering tribe, the Twa, first settled the region in 70,000 B.C. However, approximately 5,000 years ago, the Hutu, a Bantu-speaking people from the mountainous regions of central Africa, immigrated and provided Burundi's first language. The Hutu served as the main farming group in the country. Following the Hutu, the Tutsi tribe settled the region in the late fifteenth century. The Tutsi were descendants of Nilo-Hamitic-speaking people from Ethiopia. From the Tutsi's early occupation in the region, agricultural techniques were introduced, and a feudal system was established within local chiefdoms. The Tutsi's relationship with the Hutu remained stable during this period.

With the settlement of the Tutsi and Hutu tribes, Burundi's kingdom expanded in land size until the seventeenth century. At the beginning of the seventeenth century, the Tutsi dynasty reigned over Burundi's kingdom. The kingdom continued through rulers until the late nineteenth century. King Mwezi IV reigned from 1852 to 1908. During this time he allied with the Germans in order to gain control over his opponents. Mwezi's opponents, two chiefs named Maconco and Birori, were rebelling to take away Burundi's throne. As a result, the kingdom of Burundi became a German colony in 1899.

After its defeat in World War I, Germany handed control of Burundi to Belgium. On October 20, 1924, Burundi officially became a part of the Belgian colonial empire and was known as Ruanda-Urundi, and consisted of Rwanda and Burundi. However, the Belgians allowed Ruanda-Urundi to continue its kingship dynasty.

World Cities™ provides detailed educational information for cities around the world. World city and country information is attained from government sources and is subject to change. World Cities is not liable for any misrepresented information.
© Copyright 2019 World Cities (

Researchers may cite this source as: