Equatorial Guinea Cities

< View Equatorial Guinea Country Information

View Equatorial Guinea Cities Alphabetically

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

Equatorial Guinea Cities by Population

22 cities shown of 22 total Equatorial Guinea cities that are over 1,000 in population...

1. Bata 173,046
2. Malabo 155,963
3. Ebebiyin 24,831
4. Aconibe 11,192
5. Anisoc 10,191
6. Luba 8,655
7. Evinayong 8,462
8. Mongomo 6,393
9. Mikomeseng 5,813
10. Rebola 5,450
11. Pale 4,433
12. Mbini 4,062
13. Nsok 3,769
14. Ayene 3,482
15. Machinda 2,897
16. Acurenam 2,736
17. Santiago de Baney 2,365
18. Bicurga 2,318
19. Nsang 2,122
20. Ncue 1,683
21. Bitica 1,464
22. Rio Campo 1,105

Equatorial Guinea History

Despite its name, no part of Equatorial Guinea's territory lies on the equator.

The first inhabitants of the continental region that is now Equatorial Guinea are believed to have been pygmies, of whom only isolated pockets remain in northern Ro Muni. Bantu migrations between the 17th and 19th centuries brought the coastal tribes and later the Fang. Elements of the latter may have generated the Bubi, who emigrated to Bioko from Cameroon and Rio Muni in several waves and succeeded former Neolithic populations. The Bubi were the very first human inhabitants of Bioko Island. The Annobon population, native to Angola, was introduced by the Portuguese via So Tom Island.

The Portuguese explorer Ferno do P, seeking a path to India, is credited as being the first European to discover the island of Bioko in 1472. He called it Formosa, but it quickly took on the name of its European discoverer. The islands of Fernando P and Annobn were colonized by Portugal in 1474. In 1778, the island, adjacent islets, and commercial rights to the mainland between the Niger and Ogoue Rivers were ceded to Spain in exchange for territory in the American continent. Between 1778 and 1810, the territory of Equatorial Guinea depended administratively on the viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata, with seat in Buenos Aires. From 1827 to 1843, the United Kingdom established a base on the island to combat the slave trade, which was then moved to Sierra Leone upon agreement with Spain in 1843. In 1844, on restoration of Spanish sovereignty, it became known as the Territorios Espaoles del Golfo de Guinea Ecuatorial. The mainland portion, Rio Muni, became a protectorate in 1885 and a colony in 1900. Conflicting claims to the mainland were settled by the Treaty of Paris, and periodically, the mainland territories were united administratively under Spanish rule. Between 1926 and 1959 they were united as the colony of Spanish Guinea."

The current president of Equatorial Guinea is Retired Brig. Gen. Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo. The 1982 constitution of Equatorial Guinea gives Obiang extensive powers, including naming and dismissing members of the cabinet, making laws by decree, dissolving the Chamber of Representatives, negotiating and ratifying treaties and calling legislative elections. Obiang retains his role as commander in chief of the armed forces and minister of defence, and he maintains close supervision of the military activity. The Prime Minister is appointed by the President and operates under powers designated by the President. The Prime Minister coordinates government activities in areas other than foreign affairs, national defense and security.

World Cities™ provides detailed educational information for cities around the world. World city and country information is attained from government sources and is subject to change. World Cities is not liable for any misrepresented information.
© Copyright 2019 World Cities (

Researchers may cite this source as: