South Sudan Cities

< View South Sudan Country Information

View South Sudan Cities Alphabetically

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

South Sudan Cities by Population

17 cities shown of 17 total South Sudan cities that are over 1,000 in population...

1. Juba 300,000
2. Malakal 160,765
3. Wau 127,384
4. Yei 40,382
5. Yambio 40,382
6. Awel 38,745
7. Gogrial 38,572
8. Rumbek 32,083
9. Bor 26,782
10. Torit 20,048
11. Tonj 17,338
12. Maridi 14,224
13. Ler 10,486
14. Tambura 9,483
15. Bentiu 7,653
16. Kapoeta 7,042
17. Raga 3,700

South Sudan History

Southern Sudan consists of the ten states which formerly composed the provinces of Equatoria, Bahr el Ghazal, and Upper Nile.

It is estimated that the Southern region has a population of around 12 million, but given the lack of a census in several decades, this estimate may be severely compromised. The economy is predominantly rural and subsistence farming. This region has been negatively affected by the First and Second Sudanese Civil Wars for all but 10 years since Sudanese independence in 1956, resulting in serious neglect, lack of infrastructure development, and major destruction and displacement. More than 2 million people have died, and more than 4 million are internally displaced or have become refugees as a result of the civil war and war-related impacts. The region has been struck by occasional famine. A 1998 famine killed hundreds of thousands, and a food emergency was declared in mid-2005.

The Comprehensive Peace Agreement offers no right of continuation of the Khartoum concession agreements if the South votes to secede. Independence for South Sudan means that, as a sovereign state, it does not need to honor agreements made with Khartoum. Those countries that stand to lose the most upon secession are China, Malaysia, India, France, and Kuwait, given their large stakes in Khartoum concessions. With more than 98% of the people in the South desiring independence from Khartoum, there is a high probability that many of the countries now operating in the South will change. Recently, China, Malaysia, India, and France have begun to court President Salva Kiir to protect their respective country's oil interests. British companies have also been courting the Southern Sudanese government with regard to mining exploration, specializing in cobalt and copper. However, much of the population wants a new company which does not have a relationship with Khartoum, especially given the atrocities committed against the Southern people by the central government.

After the death of John Garang, the Sudanese People's Liberation Army and the South Sudan Defence Force, overcame their mutual antagonism and merged in January 2006 under the Juba Declaration. The SSDF was founded by the current vice president of the South, Dr. Riek Machar, who defected back to the SPLA/M in 2002, leaving General Paulino Matip Nhial as the chief of staff of the SSDF. Under the Juba Declaration, General Matip became the deputy commander-in-chief of the SPLA, and his SSDF forces were integrated into the SPLA, swelling its ranks from 30,000 to an estimated 130,000 troops.

World Cities™ provides detailed educational information for cities around the world. World city and country information is attained from government sources and is subject to change. World Cities is not liable for any misrepresented information.
© Copyright 2019 World Cities (

Researchers may cite this source as: